The Debt
  • Congress Needs Some Fiscal Rules

    By Veronique de Rugy and Jack Salmon

    Approval ratings for Congress are slumming at 17%. This is nothing new. With the exception of a short-lived patriotic spike following 9/11, it has been going on for decades . Yet this already failing...

  • District of Columbia

    What the Fed’s Rate Cut Means for the National Debt

    The Federal Reserve cut its benchmark interest rate for the first time since 2008 on Wednesday, lowering the target for its overnight lending rate by a quarter point , to between 2% and 2.25%, in an...

  • A sign marks the U.S Treasury Department in Washington

    Treasury Plans Big Jump in Debt Sales

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The U.S. Treasury announced Monday that it plans to borrow more – a lot more – than previously projected in the third quarter. Total borrowing is expected to hit $433 billion in the July-to-September...

  • The U.S. Capitol Building is seen shortly before sunset in Washington

    Republicans Defy Trump as House Passes Two-Year Budget Deal

    The House on Thursday afternoon passed a two-year budget deal that would raise spending, suspend the debt ceiling through July 2021 and add an estimated $1.7 trillion to the national debt over the...

  • A cyclist passes the U.S. Capitol in Washington

    Budget Deal Moving Ahead, Despite Outrage on the Right

    By Michael Rainey

    The bipartisan deal to suspend the debt ceiling and increase federal spending over the next two years will get a vote in the House on Thursday, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD) said late...

The Debt Directory

Tags
Article Type
Thursday, October 17, 2013 - 4:15am
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 12:45pm
Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 6:37pm
Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 5:15am
Monday, October 14, 2013 - 2:10pm
Monday, October 14, 2013 - 5:15am
Sunday, October 13, 2013 - 5:45am
Friday, October 11, 2013 - 7:00pm
Friday, October 11, 2013 - 5:00pm
Thursday, October 10, 2013 - 5:15am
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 - 5:15am
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 - 2:15am
Tuesday, October 8, 2013 - 12:30pm
Sunday, October 6, 2013 - 8:00am
Friday, October 4, 2013 - 2:00pm
Thursday, October 3, 2013 - 2:15am
Wednesday, October 2, 2013 - 1:19pm
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 8:38am
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 5:15am
Monday, September 30, 2013 - 11:00pm
Monday, September 30, 2013 - 3:00pm
Monday, September 30, 2013 - 2:10pm
Monday, September 30, 2013 - 5:15am
Sunday, September 29, 2013 - 4:15am
Friday, September 27, 2013 - 7:45pm
Thursday, September 26, 2013 - 11:45am
Tuesday, September 24, 2013 - 1:00pm
Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 10:44am